Braces day one

Ok, the procedure couldn’t be easier. She takes pics of you, moth closed, smiling, with a mirror in your mouth, every possible angle.
Then she puts some sort of “stretcher” in your mouth, but just to hold your lips apart, it doesn’t hurt.

The she cleans up a bit and starts gluing on the braces. Still, the only discomfort is your mouth drying out from being open so long.
The she takes the wire, and when she starts putting the wire in the brackets/doors, then you feel the pressure on your tooth. They feel heavy!
It was over in less than an hour, then she told me to be carefull with what I eat (the usual no-no list; pizza crust, nuts, sweets like caramel, she said gum, but I don’t intend to obey that 🙂  ) She totally scared me with the “It really sucks if you lose a bracket, it messes up the whole set, I can’t just put another bracket on, really, pay attention what you eat!! ” Whoa! It worked on me!
She said that there are many brushes available out there, that I am supposed to use whatever works for me. 

While waiting outside, I met some girls who already had braces – everybody in there was an oldie (aka no teenagers)  – and said “WAX, IMMEDIATELY”. Since my ortho didn’t give me any fancy pack that I read about online, I texted my brothers friend who has metal ones, if he has some, and sure thing, he saved me. I didn’t really feel them biting into the insides of my cheeks, but I think the mouth ahs to get used to it and better to get used to it on non-sharp brackets!

It still didn’t hurt, I just had to move my lips over my mouth intentionally, it doesn’t go easy. I have to really try to whistle, and I had my first cigarette, it’s really funny, you have to move your lips like you want to air kiss somebody 🙂

I was starving, so I pureed some soup and ate it with a straw. Disgusting!! Then I made some apple mouse, still, it didn’t fill me…I made some boiled eggs – the runny ones, and mixed it with a little bread, so it was softer. The hunger pains went away, at least 🙂

I brushed my teeth in the evening, so carefully, and some of the wax came off, some stayed on. The little blue & pink dots, that she said will dissolved in time, are still here (They are just for her to know which bracket goes on which tooth).

The best way to explain the feeling is when you take chewing gum, and in your mouth, you make it flat, and you put it all over your teeth, you know, you pretend you have fake teeth? So the feeling is that something is there that it’s not suppose to be there? Well, that is the feeling. 🙂

 I took pic on my cell and send it out – a friend called, saying “I only knew you got them because you were smiling so broadly I knew it must be something with your teeth 🙂 I don’t really care if you can see them, IMHO, they are pretty visible because my teeth are so small.

So I end my report with so far, so good!

Leave a Reply

