Plum & rhubarb// blueberry pie

I got a recipe from a friend, this is what she instructed;

This recipe  is consisted of two parts: dough recipe and filling recipe. The dough or a.k.a double crust is the same for any kind of pie, and I can assure you that this one I’ll give you is the best. It turns out so great that it makes me cry 🙂 so here we go:
Dough (enough for 23 cm pan) :
250 g all-purpose flour 2 teaspoons of sugar
3/4 of a teaspoon of salt
120 g butter

one cup of icy water
In a bowl whisk together flour, sugar and salt and then add butter. Blend in butter until most of the mixture resembles a coarse meal with some roughly pea sized butter lumps. Then add water little by little and start blending it all together with your hands or a fork (I prefer hands). When it’s all nicely incorporated, squeeze a bit of dough between your fingers, and if it stays together you’re good to go, if not start adding icy water, spoon by spoon, because you want it to be a dough, not a pudding 🙂
Then put dough on a floured surface, divide it into 5 portions and with the heel of your hand smear every piece forward once or twice. (I just knead-et it all together)Then gather it all together into a ball, give it a smear and divide it into 2 equal pieces and make a ball out of every piece. Then press that ball of dough from above with your hand so you get nice “disks”, wrap it into plastic wrap and put it into the fridge for an hour or so (you can even make it a day before), or (my favorite cos I don’t like waiting) put them into freezer for 15 minutes, no more because it will start freezing.
After it’s chilled, roll out one piece and try to make it larger than the pan (app 26 cm). Take the pan and smear some butter all over, then take some flour and smear it over butter so the dough does not stick to the pan. (I used baking paper).
Pre-heat the oven on 190C.
Pie Filling (blueberry one):
500 g of blueberries
110 g of sugar
20 g of cornstarch
2 teaspoons of lemon juice

I used plums and rhubarb, since our plum tree is full and I used rhubarb to mix it up a bit. I did not use cornstarch, I used one bag of vanilla sugar instead of all that sugar she used, and I didn’t use lemon juice. And I didn’t weigh it. Basically, I cut the fruit and put one bag of vanilla sugar on it and mixed it a bit and put on the dough.
Mix blueberries, sugar, cornstarch and lemon juice, pour it over dough in the pan, then use the other piece of dough to cover it. Seal the edges together and make some ventilation holes on the upper dough (cut them with a knife// I used a fork). Then use one tablespoon of milk and smear it over the upper surface, and then out one tablespoon of sugar over it. Put it in the oven and bake it for 45 minutes. //I forgot the milk and put some butter instead. Still, the dough wasn’t to die for. I am blaming it on the milk till the next time I do it, no idea on what I’ll blame it then 🙂 Also, I used 50 grams of  buckwheat flour and 200g of regular one. I have too much of buckwheat flour, but it’s too “strong” to use it on itself.
Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

