Getting rid of smoke odor…the tryouts!

I smoke in my room. I can’t open my windows to air my room. I am “hiding” from ym mom that I smoke. Life is just easier that way.

I googled a lot on the subject, and this is what seems most usable to me;

(BTW – on every page where people ask for help about this, there is a lot of “stop smoking” advice. As a smoker – that is not helping. We know it’s bad for our health. We still decide to do it. The end. )

  • Baking soda in the ashtray; you are supposed to fill the bottom of your ashtray with charcoal, baking soda or kitty litter – because they are  odor absorbing materials (you can also place  small bowls of vinegar, baking soda, charcoal or kitty litter around the house in hidden locations. I filled the ashtray with baking soda – no difference, imho.
  •  Place a drop or two of essential oils on a cold light bulb. When you turn the light on, the heat will mix with the essential oil, and you’ll have a continuous, long-term source of fragrance. No idea how you put it IN the bulb, I dripped it ON it, and thought it’s going to slide right off. Somehow, it didn’t, and after I turned the lights on, I did smell it a little.
  • Soak a washcloth with vinegar, wring excess liquid, and wave the washcloth around the room to neutralize the odor. Not tried yet.
  • Sprinkle baking soda onto the carpet and leave it for three to four hours before vacuuming. Before trying this odor-removal technique, test a small area of your carpet by sprinkling some baking soda and letting it sit overnight. If the carpet fades or shows other signs of damage, do not apply the baking soda to the rest of the floor. I don’t have a carpet, but maybe you do, so maybe it will help you.
  • If it’s winter and you have a fireplace, light a fire. If you have some dried lemon, lime, orange or grapefruit rinds, throw them on the fire. I always put the peels from oranges and mandarin oranges on the radiator, so the heat dries them out. the smell is very subtle, and I didn’t do it because of smoke, but so it smells nice.
  • Place fresh potpourri in each room. Add some water and potpourri to a large pot and simmer on the stove. Maybe if the kitchen would be near my room, that could help, but it’s on the other end of the house, so no go.
  • Scented candles or room deodorizers only mask the smell of cigarettes. The odor will return when the candle burns out or the deodorizer is empty. Tried and tested. It’s true. It doesn’t work!
  • Another reason why clothes smell like cigarettes is when you keep open cigarette packs inside your pockets. Some of the shredded tobacco leaves may make their way out of the open pack, and eventually settle at the bottom of your pocket. On shirts and coat pockets, these pieces of tobacco cannot be easily removed. To prevent this from happening, it helps to keep your cigarettes inside a cigarette case. My brand does not fit in my pretty case, but I only have them in my drawer or in my purse anyway, but it’s something that it’s easily forgotten!

I also placed a “smoke-odor thingy”,like the one here on the right, but unfortunately, the blue kind, and it smells like a toilet cleaner. It makes my head hurt, and I am still not sure if it works, because I never leave it long enough to work, maybe, because of the smell.

 

    Google “how to smoke and don’t get caught”. Laugh:)
    And if you have any ideas I might try, share. Please.
1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Air Purifier » Blog Archive » Your Questions About Air Purifiers Smoke

Leave a Reply

