Plasting dirt on your hair

Is how dying my hair with henna feels like.

I haven’t done it for years, but after seeing our neighbour with a beautiful shade of red, and it being on sale in the shop, I had to do it!

We used to do it a lot, (me & my roomies) because we heard/read somewhere that it gives your hair some extra power or something – I’ve even done it on my roomie, who has curly wire like hair to mid-back, that was rough, man…But we had fun!! But than she went to india, and heard there that it’s not true, that you need real henna, so because it’s so messy, I haven’t done it since.

But as said, last week, I did it, and…it’s still as messy as I remember it 🙂

I followed instructions on the box, where it said to combine the henna powder with hot water and conditioner, mix it till it’s the consistency of thick paste, apply it on the hair, and leave it for max. one hour.

Luckily I still have what counts as short hair, it’s a bob that I can’t pull into a pony tail, so I was able to do it myself, no idea what people with longer hair do!

See, little pieces fall of it. So you have to be carefull with where you are, and have a plastic one-use only shower cap ready, or in my case, just a plastic bag. I put my towel ower it, to keep it warm and it place, and like it said in instructions, I use the hairdryer on it, for like 10 minutes, for heat to…eeeem…well, power it up , sorta.

Washing it out is easier than washing a banana hair mask out (never, ever do that!!) and don’t be alarmed if the water keeps running out colorful, no matter how long you try to rinse it out. I’ve washed it for at least 5 times since than, and it’s still slightly reddish. BUT I did hear that red is the color that is the least stable on your hair, that it washes out the most, so that is probably another factor in this.

Also, your hair will smell like henna a bit, afterwards. But it’s the same if you use normal (chemical) hair colors, so…

End result – it suits me great, it makes my haircut pop out more, my tan works better, people keep asking me if I’ve done something new to my hair that it looks so much better…I’ll defenetly used the other half of the bag that is left over from this dying!

Leave a Reply

