The making of quince-wannabe-jam

Quince is not a very common fruit here, but people seem to have it in vineyards, and my mom told me that her friend has a tree full of them and that he is not planning to do anything with them – so I asked for them.

First, you have to wash them, they have this sorta waxy surface, but it doesn’t take a lot.

They are very hard to cut.

You need a bigger pot to cook it in than you think you do. You need more glass jars than you think you do.

This is how I’ve done it;

I washed all my quinces. I just started cutting them; sorta like an apple, all four sides, because the core is not as skinny as it is with apples, its wider, so I felt like I am wasting a lot of quince flesh, but since I had so much of it, I didn’t worry.

I cut them in smaller pieces, weighted them till it reached half a kilogram, and made them even smaller in the onion chopper thingy. My logic is, the smaller they are cut, the faster they will cook. You’ll puree them at the end anyway, so it doesn’t matter what you do with them!

So, I wrote down all the half kilos, because I needed to know how much usable quince I had. It amounted to 4,5 kilos, and I needed to use a second pot to put them in, and I started to cook it. I think I cooked them for about two hours, and then I added one lemon and 3 oranges, and even though I read it takes two-part of quince t one part of sugar, I only put one kilo of sugar in, and even that was too much, imho. ((That is how it tasted than. Now I’ve opened one of the jars, and it’s not too sweet. So keep that in mind!))

 

I also added half a kilo of apples, just so I diluted the strong taste of quince a bit.

I purred it, and started to pour it into the glass jars. (I washed them in the dishwasher first, than put it in the oven, so they were dry and hot, and put the lids in boiling water to keep them sterilized.)

Because I didn’t have enough jars the first time, I ran to the basement again, washed them by hand, and put them in the oven, and just hoping it will be enough. It don’t think it hurt the jam to be cooking longer.

After I filled them, and covered them with the lids, I put them all in the corner of a kitchen counter and covered them with a kitchen towel. After one hour, I turned the upside down, and let them cool down. (Don’t ask me why this has to be done, I know it must, so I do it!).

Than into the basement they went!

I don’t thin it jelly-ied up as much as I expected it to, but it is eatable, I guess, I’ll tell you if it’s not 😉

So from 5  kilos of quince, I got 12 smalls jars, and 3 big ones, just so you’ll get the idea.

Quince rules 😉

Leave a Reply

