Testing claning my face with oil

I was immediately excited about testing the so called Oil cleansing method after reading about it! Heard about it here, and read more here and here.

Than…I read this, where it’s says this is just bad. Also, Here, in the comments, there is some unnerving news from the homeopath about castor oil.

I knew from the begging that I don’t want to use it as an every day method, but as a cleansing every two weeks or so. The method that sounded the best was the one with steaming my face, not just using a cloth (bending my head over a pot of steaming water )

I bought castor oil, and the lady asked me if I am using it for constipation, and to be very careful if I am, because it’s very potent. I said no, that I’ll be using it on my face, and she said oh, ok, for your lashes than. I just nodded.

My fist try…it went ok, but there was no blackheads coming out of my pores as I hoped 😦 So I’ll try longer next time…I mixed it with sunflower oil, just because we have it for cooking, and I’ll try with almond oil next time, I heard it’s good for removing makeup, too, so it must be great for the face.

Second time was not much different, and I admit I was very discouraged afterwards, and I haven’t done it yet (it’s been over a month).

Since I have a whole bottle of the castor oil just sitting here, I googled what did the pharmacy lady said about the lashes, and again, read that even though it’s not scientifically proven, it’s supposed to promote lash, nail and brow growth, and even  though I can not complain about my brows and lashes, pampering them can’t hurt them, so for the last two nights, I apply the oil on them. I read about girls using empty& cleaned out mascara bottles for application, and it sounds practical (my favourite thing is to groom my eyebrows with cleaned mascara brushes) but I just apply it all over my eyelids, because eye area can always use moisturizing!

If I try to forget about the homeopathic warnings, it can’t hurt; what I don’t like is the oiling of my fringe (duh; I’ll just do the brows every two days, skipping the day when my hair is freshly washed!!) and getting it on my pillowcases, but since we do own a washing machine, and you should change your pillow cases very regularly, it’s survivable.

As for the nails, they are brittle and slow growing as always.

Leave a Reply

