Third batch of cupcakes in three weeks

The fact that I can’t make muffins, even with normal flour, is well known by now. So I tried something that seemed similar to me – cupcakes. I wanted to do them for my Bday. And – It works! it’s tasty! Yep, I made cupcakes! It’s a great recipe! I found it here.

To just have it all here; (I changed it a bit )

2 eggs + 1/2 cup of sugar*; mix

1, 1/4 cup of GF flour

1/2 ts xanthan gum

1 !/” ts baking powder

Sift together; mix with sugar and eggs; gradually add;

1/2 cup of canola oil

1/2 cup of milk

1/2 cup of shredded coconut

dash of salt

Bake for 20 minutes of 170 degrees Celsius. I think I’ll have to turn them once in the oven, because this last third time, I finally made them a bit fuller in the cups and they came out crooked; I think it’s because we have this ventilation oven and when the hot air blew out, it tilted them in one direction.

I make a mixture of flours of my choosing. Usually, I use half a cup of tapioca or rice flour, and the rest is a little  bit of everything I have; soya, buckwheat, corn…* I use only half a cup of sugar, and add the other half cup of coconut. Next time, I’ll try with hazelnuts or any other kind of nuts.

 

First, I put the cups in the muffin tin, but they were the wrong size and came out all squashed and weird. So I just put the cups on a normal, empty oven rack, and filled them with the thing that you use for soups. It didn’t run over, it rose, and I could do it all in one batch!

For icing, I tried just butter & sugar first, and it was just too unhealthy for me. So I tried butter cream icing next, and I like it better! I get a batch of 13 cupcakes (when filled more than half way in the cups) or 15 when they are smaller sized, and the icing is just enough so there is some on every cupcakes, but it’s not doused with it (80 grams of cream cheese, 60 grams of butter, 1,5 cup to 2 cups of castor sugar). That is still  A LOT of castor sugar, but it works 🙂

I figured out it’s best if I melt the butter and let it cool down, and mix all together, than see how thick it is. The shape has to stay in form for it to work, otherwise, it’ll just melts off.

I used a freezer bag, and cut a whole in one corner, and shaped it on the cupcakes, but please be carefull, it tends to explode (I tried using that forming thingy the first time, it exploded all over the place!

So; tried and tested and approved! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

