Honey cookies!! Recipe ala GB

My friend asked me about lebkuchen, and I googled just photos first, and thought it’s something we call honey cookies.

So I had to find a gluten free recipe and bake them!

Now, the recipe asks for the dough to wait 2 after in the refrigerator after its mixed together – I only waited one hour. It also asks to be rolled out and cut out, and I did none of those. I just mixed it (sifted the flours, xanthan and baking soda +powder, I always do now; tapioca and rice are superfine and don’t need it, but soy is always clumpy and really needs it! Anyhow; I mixed it all, just put the same bowl in the refrigerator for an hour. Took it out and used the two dessert spoons to shape the dough into the tray; shouldn’t bother, because they all spread out, they did not hold the form. Now, I don’t care about that – if you do, I don’t know how to help you;; maybe add some more flour to make the dough firmer? No idea. Also, I did not use the glaze, just so you won’t think I forgot something…And in my oven, 176 degrees Celsius too much, even after 10 minutes, they were a little bit too brown on the bottoms. So, lower tempt next time.

I don’t have all the mentioned spices, so I used some masala chai mixture :)) I was stingy, because it’s so strong in my tea, but will definitely use more the next time, to give them some kick!

Enjoy!

This is the recipe.

This is my version of this recipe;

  • 1 cup + 2 tablespoons + 1/4 + 1/4 GF flour. I used more of fine ones, and just like two ts of corn & buckwheat, the rest is a mixture of soy, tapioca, white rice flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 teaspoon gluten-free baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon xanthan gum
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper;  3/4 teaspoon ground cardamom; 3/4 teaspoon allspice; 1/4 teaspoon mace; 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger; 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves; 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 3 tablespoons softened butter
  • 1 egg
Leave a Reply

