Gb bakes; a coconut cake!

Original recipe found at Karina, here. I tried to follow it closely, because lately all I bake is ok, but not yummy.

I used potato starch, tapioca,  millet, chickpea flour, and lemon instead of lime. And I am not sure if coconut flour and coconut flakes are one and the same. I used flakes.

The recipe says bake them at 370, I converted that, it’s about 180 C, and I baked it at 160, because I read (and experienced) that you need to lower the temperatures at ventilation ovens.

They did come up a little tilted, even though I switched them during the baking, and cracked a little. I don’t really care.

I certainly don’t have the palm shortening, so I’ll create my own icing; using cream cheese, powdered sugar, and coconut milk. Sight.

1 1/2 cups potato starch
1 cup tapioca flour & chickpea flour (half/half)
1/2 cup millet flour
1/2 cup  coconut flakes
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 teaspoons xanthan gum
3 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon fine sea salt I forgot!
3  eggs,
1/2 cup vegetable oil (we didn’t have olive oil, next time I’ll try to use it! )
1 14-oz can  coconut milk
1 teaspoon lemon juice

Mixed the dry together, than the wet – felt weird adding lemon to eggs, I half expected it will “sour” them…I’ll use a bigger bowl next time, because when you add them all together, it’s quite a big quantity of “dough”.

The recipe says to use two cake forms – we only had one, I borrowed one from the neighbours, and it was slightly bigger. I used the baking paper trick, BUT the paper got squashy at the sides, so the sides of the cake got ridges in them, and that made it harder to do the frosting. Anyhow, I pour the mixture in two forms, and baked the at 169 for 33 minutes; after the first 15, I took them out and changed the places because one was nearer to the fan, and I hoped that would even out the baking. One “grew” a little bulge on the side, and I took a small layer from that one, because I first wanted to use it as a bottom one, but then I thought “hey, but I can just use that one on the top, it will make it easier”. Well, I forgot that was the bigger form, soooo I have one uneven looking cake, LOL. Anyhow, because I got left over coconut milk from the frosting ( I mixed one pack of cream cheese, about one cup pf sugar, like 1/3 cup of butter and about 1/2 cup of coconut milk for it, it was a little too runny :/ ) to pour over one layer, just to give it a little more moisture.

The cake is sooo soft and moist! This is one great cake!!!

Leave a Reply

