Coconut cookies

Recipe from here.

I used this ingridiences;

3 cups gluten-free flour.
2 cups sugar (I used one)
1 cup melted butter
2 tablespoons orange zest
1 ½ teaspoon vanilla extract (check for gluten-free) (I didn’t)
1 ½ cups dried cranberries (I used 2 chopped apples instead)
1 cup unsweetened coconut flakes
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1 egg
Pinch of salt

I had some troubles baking this. First batch didn’t bake through, I baked it at 150C for 20 minutes. The second, I baked it at 150 at first, than turn on the ventilation oven for the next ten minutes, and that was successful.

 

My second try yesterday, I baked at 160 for 15 minutes on normal, than for a few minutes on ventilation. Next time, I’ll just try 175 C normal – no ventilation, that is much “stronger”!

Also, the second batch, I rolled them in ball shapes and flattened them like the last time, but this time, i formed a little hole in the middle of each one – had to repeat that about 10 minutes before I took them out – and filled them with jam as soon as I took them out, when they were still hot. I think I remember my grannie telling you have to fill the jam when the cookies are still hot.  Even my mom said these are great!!

 

Also – After you take it out of the refrigerator, the batter is cold and hard. I mixed apples in again, and it’s a mess – the juices from the apple, the hard unyielding dough – but if you are not too keen on details, such as uniform shapes and such, it will turn out ok 🙂

Leave a Reply

