Whitening strips diary

I’ve done it twice on separate occasion, but the other day I realised I have to do it day after day like a sort of treatment. (I used Crest 3D whitestrips)

I should say that my teeth were never white, ever since they came out they were yellowish in color, so besides them being crooked, I had double shame. I smoke half a pack a day and drink about 2 litters of black or green tea per day. Still, I am happy they are not stained – they were scrubbed very well by y ortho at debracing – but they are not white, either.

Day 1; I mess up the application on the lower teeth, so it keeps sliding around. I sound like sucking machine, because my saliva keeps building up and when I swallow, I have to be carefull to not suck on the strips and move them. My gums sting a little in the beginning, but that is all. No visible difference.

Day2; much better! I discovered the best way to endure this 30 minutes is to apply the strips, than shut your mouth, and just try to swallow without touching your front teeth or otherwise disturbing the strips. They stay in place, and you can swallow the saliva. (My previous “technique required me to have my mouth open, my lips peeled back, sucking my saliva and try to let the strips stay dry and in place. Very awkward!) .

Also, maybe it’s the light, but they seem whiter!

Day 3; forgot to do it during the day, so I did it just before I went to bed, so no brushing πŸ™‚ I figured this way it will work on ym teeth all night -I removed the strips, but some sort of residue remains.

Day 4, 5 and 6: brake, no strips

Day 7; wore in it the afternoon, while putting away winter clothes and putting out summer clothes, yeeey! made the time go by much faster. Till using my “closed mouth, teeth clenched together technique”.

Day 8: forgot again. ((Why the beaks (every few days a day or two is ok, but I forget more than that. See, You are not allowed to brush before, so I can’t do it in the morning when walking the dog. Than, I smoke a lot, I can’t do it during that. In the afternoon, I eat most of the time, so I don’t want to do the strips than go eat immediately…And I don’t want to do it just before bed like day #3, because than i can’t wear my retainer all night.

Day 9; stiiiiiings my gums a lot at the beginning!

Day 10&11 break – because my upper gums hurt when I brush my teeth (the same area where it sings me when strips are applied) so I am giving them a break.

My last one – the day before the job thing: it stung, but at least I’m done!

– – – – – – – –

I wrote this two months ago, and it got hidden in drafts. What I’ll say is that iI do see a little difference, I do feel more confident, and if they would be available in my country I would do this…once a year, or once every 18 months. No matter if it’s not as strong as whitening in the dental office, it does affect your teeth, and I don’t want to get them sensitized on cold/hot/sweet or something like that!! ) But it’s not Hollywood white teeth over night.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jennie
    Aug 01, 2012 @ 05:40:42

    Hey! Have you tried peroxide? You can get it at your local drugstore and it works way better than those whitening strips. I used those whitening strips for a month and they only made my teeth a little whiter *humrph*!

    Reply

  2. grinningbookfairy
    Aug 01, 2012 @ 09:12:07

    *picking herself of the floor, trying to grasp the fact that she had a comment!! A real one!! Thank you, you’ve made my day!!!Ok, turning the fawning off!*

    Now – I am terrified of peroxide, honestly! Didn’t it turn your teeth more sensitive? A friend did it and she said she is much more conscious of cold air now! besides – in my part of Europe, i can’t even get peroxide at the pharmacy, and I wouldn’t use the one intended for hair in my mouth no matter what! (But I am bad at chemistry, is it the same?) Still terrifying – hat off to you that you have the guts!!

    Reply

  3. Jennie
    Aug 02, 2012 @ 20:09:23

    I actually don’t know! I had my pharmacist friend buy the stuff and do it for me. It didn’t make my teeth more sensitive, but maybe I’m just.. different? Always good to have health care friends. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  4. Jennie
    Aug 02, 2012 @ 20:12:27

    Oh btw, sorry forgot to mention – I’m making a list of all the blogs I want to follow as I go through this. Hope you don’t mind me linking to you!

    http://nyjennie.tumblr.com/braces-information-sites-i-like

    Reply

  5. grinningbookfairy
    Aug 03, 2012 @ 08:40:25

    I am terrified of teeth sensitivity since my teeth nerves got infected once, and it hurt like hell, so I admit to being biased. Be thankful that yours are tough πŸ™‚

    You adding me – I do not mind, I am actually very happy about it πŸ˜‰ Very!! Thank you!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

