Drying tomatoes and canning them in oil; my first time!

Because so many tomato plants grew by their own this year, we had a good tomato year. That meant all of the sudden, we had more of them than we could eat or give to others. So i decided to preserve them.

I used two techniques.

First time, I dried them in the food drier. My problem with it is the thickness of the slices. because the trays in ym dryer are one on top of the other, you have to make thin slices. And because tomatoes are mostly water, if they are thin before you dry them, nothing is left.

So i did the second round in the oven. The plan was to just leave it on the lowest setting  – 30 Celsius – but I saw that it’s too low very soon. So I think the whole process took about three days, with about 6 hours of temp being at +/- 70 Celsius, and than half a day of just slowly drying in the closed oven, in that heath.

 

Than I took glass jars, cleaned them.

Peeled garlic and roasted it a bit in olive oil, let it cool down.

Went to the garden, picked some thyme, oregano and basil leaves and washed and dried them.

Than I sorted the dried tomatoes to dark and light colored ones; some dried to the almost burned condition 🙂

 

Next I just layered them in the glass jars; a layer of tomatoes, a clove of garlic, enough olive oil to cover; another layer of tomatoes, a basil leaf, oil; tomatoes, oil; tomatoes, garlic, oil, tomatoes, oregano, oil…etc, all the way to the top

 

Than I closed it and let it for a week. Because I read some very conflicting statements about how long this keeps, I started eating the first jar after one week of soaking. Delicious!!! The one I started is from the oven drying, so I can’t say if there is any difference, I chose this one because it was the biggest jar and it didn’t fill to the top.

 

All i can say is, this is delicious! I read how you can use this oil for other dishes, like pasta, and it makes sence…

From about 2 kilos of tomatoes, I got two 3 deciliter jars. here, I would go with the smaller jars the better logic, if you are not a large family. You can’t eat a lot of it at once, but its’ better to eat it soon after opening, like everything, I guess.

 

The drying of tomatoes is called a lot of things, like sun drying them, dehydrating them, etc. I just called it drying.

 

I find it a great way of playing with tomatoes!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

