I glazed oranges!

So, I made this yesterday.

 

I have eaten what they call rice pudding many, many times. Not made this way; we do it by cooking the ice, than mixing it with cream cheese and baking it in the oven. But, we had oranges that we needed to use, AND heavy cream that was already over the date, but I tried it and saw it’s still good, so I made this.

 

First, the orange peel stayed bitter. Or maybe I am naive and it was not supposed to be eaten. Anyway, not edible, I removed the peel before mixing it with the rice the second time.

Second, the heavy cream is completely useless in his recipe. You don’t need it at all. It doesn’t ruin the dish, but imho, it doesn’t contribute a thing!!

 

Third, when glazing, you’ll probably get more use from the sirup than from the fruit, so don’t think you need to wait untill there is only a little liquid left! I used the same water the oranges were boiling in, to conserve the taste.

 

So, my verdict; rice pudding is a super easy desert to make, and you can do it with things you most probably have in your pantry (rice and milk!). We add raisins, and por over syrup for making juice, or add some powdered cocoa and mix. Yummy 🙂

Leave a Reply

